WPU CFAS researchers dominate 5th Palawan Symposium
Monday, 06 August 2018 19:40


Researchers from the College of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences won majority of the research awards during the 4th National Conference on Sustainable Development and 5th Palawan Research Symposium on July 26-27, 2018 at the Citystate Asturias Hotel, Puerto Princesa City. Congratulations to the winners!


Category 1: Biophysical, Ecological, Climate Change

  • 1st place – Seagrass and microbenthic invertebrates at Arena Island, Narra, Palawan (Sheena Rose B. Millendez, Karl Aries H. Sumandal, Karen G. Madarcos, Herminie P. Palla)
  • 2nd place– Growth and survival of abalone Haliotis asinina reared in grow out cages using different substrates (Riza G. San Juan, Lota A. Creencia)
  • 3rd place– Anti-hyperglycemic potential of selected seaweed species (Antonio Miguel P. Paduga Jr., Jhonamie M. Omar, Ria S. Sariego)


Category 1: Biophysical, Ecological, Climate Change

  • 1st place– Developing a local culture system for abalone Haliotis asinina in the coastal communities of Palawan, Philippines (Lota A. Creencia)
  • 2nd place– Restoring Asian (native) catfish Clarias macrocephalus from natural inland waters in Luzon (Karl Marx A. Quizon, Arlene L. Avillanosa)
  • 3rd place– Status of abalone fisheries and trade in Palawan, Philippines (Claribel B. Salazar, Roger G. Dolorosa)

Category 2: Socio-Cultural, Institutional, Political, Legal

  • 1st place– FADs near marine protected areas with associated municipal capture fisheries and its implications to fisheries management (Theresa Marie F. Ermeje, Harold M. Monteclaro, Armi May T. Guzman)

Category 3: Economic, Innovation, Technology, Infrastructure, ICT

  • 1st place– Financial viability of small-scale contract grow-out culture of black-lipped pearl oyster Pinctada margaritifera as supplemental livelihood of fisherfolk
    (Jonson M. Javier, Guillermo Guillem, Ariel Valoroso, Roger G. Dolorosa)
  • 2nd place– Anti-hyperglycemic potential of selected seagrass species in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan (Lea Janine A. Gajardo, Ria S. Sariego, Jhonamie M. Omar)

Photo credit: Czarina Hazel S. Santiago

© 2022 All rights reserved.
San Juan, Aborlan, Palawan, Philippines